The Fred Hollows Foundation Board has publicly thrown its support behind an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice to Parliament being enshrined in Australia’s Constitution, following its Board meeting and Annual General Meeting yesterday (Tuesday 30 May 2023).

“Fred was a fierce ally to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, and it’s with great delight that we pledge to vote Yes to recognition and a voice for First Nations Australians,” Chair Jane Madden said.

“For years The Fred Hollows Foundation has supported self-determination and the right for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to have a say in the matters that affect their lives.

“We believe Constitutional recognition through a Voice is not just symbolic, but critical to closing the gap in eye health and improving longer-term outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

“The Foundation is proud to play a leading role in the Allies for Uluru, a coalition of more than 200 organisations who have committed to supporting the Voice to Parliament.

“In 2020 we embedded a First Nations Voice in our organisation’s own Constitution, ensuring an Aboriginal and Torres Islander representative would always be at the highest level of decision-making.

“This was after years of having the benefit of an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander voice on our Board.

“Supporting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples’ right to sight, good health and self-determination is our legacy.

“With a referendum on the horizon to enshrine a First Nations Voice in Australia’s Constitution, The Foundation’s Board is pleased to publicly accept the invitation to walk with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people across the country and pledge to vote Yes.”

Arrente and Kalkadoon woman, Co-Chair of Australians for Indigenous Constitutional Recognition and accomplished film director Rachel Perkins spoke at The Foundation’s AGM about the need for all Australians to rally in support of the Voice and the importance of organisations like The Foundation in closing the gap.

Signed by the Board of The Fred Hollows Foundation:

· Gabi Hollows AO (Founding Director)
· Jane Madden (Chair)
· Helen Evans AO (Deputy Chair)
· Associate Professor Michael Johnson AM (Deputy Chair)
· Nicki Anderson
· Ruwan De Mel
· Katrina Fanning AO PSM
· Dr Michelle Gayer
· Dr Anthony Hall
· Christine Hawkins AM
· Tina Wyer

Authorised by Jane Madden, Chair, The Fred Hollows Foundation

Cover Photo Credit: Michael Amendolia
Left to right: Board Directors Helen Evans (Deputy Chair), Dr Anthony Hall, Ruwan De Mel, Associate Professor Michael Johnson AM (Deputy Chair), Founding Director Gabi Hollows AO, Christine Hawkins AM, Jane Madden (Chair), Tina Wyer.